The Wendish Research Exchange

Urban - Lehman, A Personal Recollection by Pat Larsen

mersiowsky - 11-18-2016 at 04:24 PM

Andreas Johann (Andrew John) Urban and Maria Magdalena Lehman (Lena)

A Personal Recollection

Andrew Urban was born 15 June 1861 in Serbin, Texas. His parents were Michael Urban and Johanna Christiana (born Schneider) Wuensche who were original Wendish immigrants aboard the Ben Nevis. Andrew married Maria Magdalena Lehman 26 April 1883 at Serbin, Texas. She was born 17 October 1864 in Serbin, Texas and baptized at home 3 November 1864. Her parents were Johann Carl August Lehman and Maria Jannasch who also arrived in Texas in 1854 aboard the Ben Nevis. At the time of her birth her father was listed as farming on Yegua Creek (near Giddings).

In 1886 the Andrew Urban family removed to Thorndale, Texas in the company of Lena’s parents and several of her siblings. Andrew was a cabinetmaker by trade and a master builder. He designed and constructed the pulpit for St. Paul’s Lutheran Church in Thorndale and made large cedar chests for each of his children. He operated a planing mill, and the establishment of the Urban Funeral Home may have evolved from constructing coffins. A lake on his property became the source of the town’s water supply and he was noted as proprietor (with his wife’s brother John) of the Thorndale Water Works. Andrew had an eye removed in San Antonio though I do not know why. My father recalls that Andrew stayed with his cousin, Peter Urban, while there. Lena, my great-grandmother, showed me his glass eye replacement which was kept in a cupboard in her pantry after his death. The pantry was a cold room where her root vegetables were stored.